DjangoBooks.com

UK beginner players/resources?

NickHNickH
edited October 2013 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 19
Hi folks,

I've been fascinated by this style of music for a while and i've now decided to give learning Django style guitar a shot! I have a Cigano guitar arriving this week and i thought i'd seek some advice.

My background is in bluegrass banjo and a little basic guitar. I'm aware this is a pretty steep learning curve but i'm hoping/praying that my banjo chops will help!

I've been reading the threads here and i'm thinking of brushing up on my guitar basics for a while then joining the Rosenburg academy. This is assuming there are no teachers in my area (Manchester UK).

So wondering if anyone has any advice and perhaps any UK players know of any groups/teachers etc...

oh and i'm thinking of going to the festival in Samois next year. Not to play but to listen!

thanks

Nick

Comments

• jonpowljonpowl Hercules, CA✭✭✭ Dupont MD-100, Altamira M01F
    Good luck with your quest to play Gypsy Jazz. I started in the spring after watching the Gonzalo Bergara Quartet do a concert. I am a long time, very average country, rock and blues guitar player. You probably want to get Michael Horowitz' Gypsy Picking and Gypsy Rhythm. Tim Robinson has some good stuff on his web site from London. Anything you can find on the internet by Robin Nolan or Dennis Chang will be helpful. 365 licks by Aaron Walker gives you a lot to work on (http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL450F1B9F480DB42B). I spend quite a bit of time with Samy Daussat and his Cours de Guitar Jazz Manouche on Facebook and YouTube (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cours-de ... 2750013691). He gives you a video and .pdf tab, all for free. The only problem is it is in French. But I find I still learn more from his lessons than almost anybody else.
  • NickHNickH
    Thanks so much for your reply Jon. I had a similar moment after watching a band called Manière des Bohémiens at a festival this year. Inspiring!