DjangoBooks.com

Fast Triplet Lick... Help...

tobykeatobykea New ZealandNew
edited November 2008 in Technique Posts: 11
Hi there everyone, I'm quite new to this gypsy game as far as playing is concerned. I've been listening to Django and the Rosenbergs for a couple of years now and finally decided to take the plunge and put some serious effort into playing in the style.

I bought the Gypsy Picking book a few years back and there is one lick in there that always had me baffled as to how these guys like Jimmy , Stochelo, Joscho etc could execute at lightning speed.

From memory the lick from the book is exercise 10.2, I may be wrong but it's the minor, minor/maj7,min7,minor6 descending triplet lick.

I've attached a link with Joscho Stephan playing in which He uses the lick.

http://browsermail.com/page.html?p=0000 ... lburzIh74g

The question I have about this lick is are downstrokes used every time a string change occurs? e.g, is the lick performed DUDDDDDUD with the middle 3 downstrokes in the group of 5 being the sweep of the G,B and E strings in for example an A minor triad at the 14th,13th and 12th frets?

I find this very hard to do at the speed say Joscho is doing it at using this picking pattern.

Is there a secret way the guys like Jimmy R and Joscho do this at higher speeds? Like using some sort of alternate picking method in conjunction with the rest stroke method?

I would dearly love to get this lick down.

Regards,

Toby.

Comments

• dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    use your wrist... alternate practicing it slow and clean (good timing, full clear restrokes on the downs) and as fast as possible and more or less clean....

anyway, joscho doesn't use the same techique as django and co.... if memory serves me right he sweeps it....
  • aa New York City✭✭✭✭