DjangoBooks.com

[Controversial] Why is there not any great US guitarists?

Comments

• Russell LetsonRussell Letson Prodigy
    Back to basics (because I used to be a teacher and am still a pedant): If this is a question of aesthetics, there just aren't any easy answers, since "good," "better," and "best" are judgments made inside individual nervous systems which are not necessarily calibrated to a single standard. So the question "Is X a better guitarist/painter/actor than Y" needs to be recast as some kind of quantitative or statistical question: "How many copies of Tune A did each sell?" "How many shows did each sell out at Venue B?" And even then, there are variables that affect the outcome that have nothing to do with the quality of the artist's work. (Bad marketing; bad weather; economic downturn; a boy-band tour at the same time.)

Recasting the question in a different direction, as one of technical skill, seems to me to change its nature, but at least it offers some parameters that are not utterly subjective. Can X or Y play a given tune at a tempo of Z BPM? Can each play that tune in all 12 keys? Which one knows more of the standard repertory? (Which poses another bunch of sub-questions.) These are questions that speak to a skill set and a level of technical achievement. But they don't tell you which player is more "musical"--because musicality is like beauty: it's either individual-subjective or a matter of statistical observation of the preferences of a group of people. And with art, those preferences can be affected by non-artistic factors--like national or ethnic pride or simple familiarity. (I had a aunt who couldn't stand Frank Sinatra because he was an immoral man.)

Of course, I speak from a particular philosophical point of view. Platonists and perhaps Thomists might disagree.