DjangoBooks.com

Old "mystery" guitar

A while ago, I posted a description and some pictures of an old "no name" guitar. I received some very helpful responses from folks on this forum. I am pretty new to the world of gypsy jazz and the gear involved. My lutherie experience is almost entirely old American guitars so some of the details of my mystery guitar were misleading, at least, to me.

Well, the happy ending of the story is that the guitar turned out to be a Busato made guitar, pre-1943, from the shop on the Rue D'Orgemont. But, the complicated side is, it's a lot scarier working on the guitar now that it is no longer a mystery.

But, I wanted to thank some of you for you guidance and interest.

Comments

• Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!
    Did this "Busato" happen to come from Canada? Do you happen to have some pictures?
    I've never been a guitar player, but I've played one on stage.
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Goatherd wrote:
    Well, the happy ending of the story is that the guitar turned out to be a Busato made guitar, pre-1943, from the shop on the Rue D'Orgemont.

That's fantastic! However, I'd be curious to know what criteria you used to determine its authenticity. The name "Busato" gets thrown around a lot, with nearly every old labeless French guitar on eBay being sold as such. Very few actually can be confirmed as Busatos and many buyers have been burned purchasing such instruments as in most cases they are worth far less than half of what they paid.

Thanks,

M
  • Bob HoloBob Holo Moderator