DjangoBooks.com

Unwanted harmonics when playing rhytm

edited January 2013 in Gypsy Rhythm Posts: 4
Hello guitarists! I'm new on the board. I'm also new with this style of playing. Been playing mostly swing and bebop before and because of my affection to swinging stuff, how could one resist gypsy jazz?!

I've been struggling with 2 issues when trying to learn the rhythm. Played on my 335, I didn't seem to get the right amount of "chunkiness" or richness on beats 2 and 4 so i bought a Gitane DG-255, and also purchased the Gypsy picking and gypsy rhytm books by Michael Horowitz. So i got two questions basically. One is, when I mute the strings on 2 and 4, i get these unwanted harmonics no matter how hard or soft i dampen with the fretting hand. I've experimented with for a few weeks now and it drives me crazy. It's better in some positions like Am6 in fifth position but i get em mostly everywhere. Listening to the rhythm of Gonzalo Bergara, I feel like I'm doing something wrong. Anyone recognize this...?

Secondly, in Horowitz rhytm book, he adresses some basic Gypsy chords. I know my inversions fairly well and have been playing for a while but some of these chords are nearly impossible for me to get clean and good-sounding. I'm talking about the ones where you barr 2 notes with the second or third finger, and also incorporate the thumb. It seems as if one would need doublejointed fingers. So the question is, is it unwise to start practising gypsy rhythm playing using only three-note shapes? Until you get the hang of the rhythm i mean and after a while try to work with the "basic" ones?

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator