DjangoBooks.com

Keeping up with Chord Changes (First Post, Hello all!)

edited January 2013 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 3
Hey guys!

This is my first post on this discussion board so I would like to start off by saying hello to everyone on here! I am new to gypsy jazz, just bought my first gypsy guitar the other day, and im super excited to start to learn this incredible new style. However, I have some questions to help me get there.

Im starting, as I feel many people do, with the song minor swing. I have played in Jazz bands before and have a pretty sound theory background but I have never really delved into improvisation before because I felt it was always a daunting challenge. Over the past few weeks I have been working on some basic arpeggios and trying to connect them together, as well as starting to focus on the use of guide tones for connecting ideas from chord to chord.

This is where I get hung up; I try to come up with melodic ideas using mainly the chord tones but then loose track of the chord changes which results in me improving mainly over Am and the harmonic minor scale. Any suggestions on how to keep up with the chord changes mentally, as well as be able to solo in a melodic fashion?

Thanks for all the help, I will keep you all updated on my progress!

Comments

• What I suggest to beginners is to work through the song arpeggiating the chords as it seems that you are doing. When you can arp the whole song without thinking in a completely relaxed way, then start by changing the starting chord tone for each arp and then start playing around with the arps rhythmically as well. Final step is to introduce some non chord tones.

It also makes sense to listen to a version you like a lot and copy some of the phrases that you really like. Start to build your own vocabulary so to speak.

Good luck and welcome aboard
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator