DjangoBooks.com

Who is this fiddler?

DtpolkDtpolk New
edited October 2012 in Violin Posts: 11
I'm still learning who the recent gypsy jazz masters are. There is a U-Tube video on the web called the "Django Reinhardt Tribute" - Swing Gitan, with Angelo Debarre and Birelli Lagrene. I'm not sure which one the fiddler is...but he's great! One of the best I've heard. Who is he? Thanks!

Comments

• NewcastleBudNewcastleBud Erstwhile✭✭✭✭
    That would be Florin Niculescu.
    I think, therefore I am......I think.
    Here's this:

Florin Niculescu
    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Florin Niculescu (b. February 8, 1967 in Bucharest) is a Romanian violinist of Romani (Gypsy) ethnicity. He is considered one of the best jazz manouche violinist of our days, the successor of Stéphane Grappelli. He is noted for his impressive technique and virtuosity as well as for his musical sensitivity.

Niculescu was born into a family of educated lăutari. Everybody in his family was involved in music: his father and his uncle were violinists, his mother a pianist and his sister a cellist. He received his first violin lessons from his father, with whom he started to study seriously when he was 4–5 years old. At 6 he enrolled at the "Dinu Lipatti" Music School and then at the "George Enescu" Music High School, where he was a first prize student. Meanwhile he played with his father at weddings and celebrations, where he developed his improvisatory sense. When he was about 13 he heard for the first time violinist Stéphane Grappelli, who would become his idol and jazz music his main attraction.