DjangoBooks.com

Lesson websites

PolkatPolkat Chico, CANew
edited August 2013 in Violin Posts: 119
Hi all,
I've been a forum member for some time now, and have gotten some good advice here.

I live in a rural area in the US where we don't have violin teachers, let alone jazz violin teachers, and as a result I'm basically self taught. I've been searching the web for free jazz violin lessons, and with the acception of some U-Tube stuff (which doesn't really teach very well), or sites that only want to sell you something, I've been coming up short. I play okay but want to advance my improvising beyond simple scale and arpeggio runs.

Anyone know of any sites that actually provide usable lessons?

Thanks!
Violin's swing the best!

Comments

• PassacagliaPassacaglia Madison, WI✭✭✭✭
    Hey Polkat,

DC Music School has some things you might find useful. There are a few lesson sets on violin. I can tell you I've gained quite a bit between his DVDs (Tim Kliphuis is available on the Hyperhip Media site - if you've not heard him, I was blown away by him at the recent Django in June) and the DC website, so while I can't speak specifically to the violin stuff, I can speak to the quality of what Denis does generally.

Lot of fond memories, swimming in Chico - hitchhiked from Ventura and lived in Red Bluff as a pre-teen. Howdy!

Paul
    -Paul

pas encore, j'erre toujours.
  • While I dont play violin, as a sax player i love to steal their licks.

I took a msterclass with Tim at DFNW a few years back. He is a superb teacherbas well as a fabulous player.
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • AndyWAndyW Glasgow Scotland UK✭✭✭ Clarinets & Saxes- Selmer, Conn, Buescher, Leblanc et.al. // Guitars: Gerome, Caponnetto, Napoli, Musicalia, Bucolo, Sanchez et. al.
    I have never found much free stuff on jazz/gypsy violin on youtube or anywhere else.