DjangoBooks.com

In Paris from Apr. 24th to May 1st! Recommend me some shows!

Mark_PMark_P New
edited November 2012 in Europe Posts: 18
Hey Folks,

I'll be in Paris from Tuesday April 1st to May 1st (I'll be arriving and leaving on those days, so in they really don't count). Anyways, I know NOTHING about the GJ scene in Paris other than the fact that it is vibrant. Could anyone recommend me some places to go to spot some GJ in the wild? I'm not necessarily looking for anything big--just the real thing played well. (Having said that, I would love to see Bireli!).

Feel free to comment on the (non-GJ) Jazz scene as well. If there are any good clubs for Jazz I would love to stop in one night; I'm actually more interested in strait ahead jazz than GJ, but I figure that, well, since I'm gonna be in Paris...

Finally, any good guitar shops where I can play some GJ guitars? Believe or not, I've never actually played a selmer-style guitar before, though I've been listening to GJ for 3-4 years. These instruments don't exist in the Philadelphia area.

Any help is much appreciated!

best,

Mark

Comments

• klaatuklaatu Nova ScotiaProdigy Rodrigo Shopis D'Artagnan, 1950s Jacques Castelluccia
    Mark,

Two places in particular to check out:
    • L'Atelier Charonne http://www.ateliercharonne.com/ features great gypsy jazz every night. The food is pretty good, too. The Web site is in French, but even if you don't read French, you can make it out OK. From the home page, click on "Le Bar," then "Programmation" for the program calendar. Be sure to make reservations!